The winners of the 2017 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) were announced in Sydney on 25 May:

General fiction book of the year

  • The Dry (Jane Harper, Macmillan)

Literary fiction book of the year

  • The Last Painting of Sara de Vos (Dominic Smith, A&U)

General nonfiction book of the year

  • The Road to Ruin (Niki Savva, Scribe)

Biography of the year

  • Working Class Boy (Jimmy Barnes, HarperCollins)

Book of the year older children (8 to 14 years)

  • The Bone Sparrow (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)

Book of the year for younger children (0 to 8 years)

  • The 78-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)

Illustrated book of the year

  • Penguin Bloom: The Odd Little Bird Who Saved a Family (Cameron Bloom & Bradley Trevor Greive, ABC Books)

International Book of the Year

  • Commonwealth (Ann Patchett, Bloomsbury)

Matt Richell Award for new writer of the year

  • Fight Like a Girl (Clementine Ford, A&U)

Small publishers’ adult book of the year

  • The Australian Native Bee Book (Tim Heard, Sugarbag Bees)

Small publishers’ children’s book of the year

  • My Sister is a Superhero (Damon Young & Peter Carnavas, UQP)

Audiobook of the year

  • The 78-Storey Treehouse (written by Andy Griffiths, read by Stig Wemyss, Bolinda).

Author Di Morrissey was presented with the Lloyd O’Neil Award for service to the Australian book industry, and literary agent Margaret Connolly received the Pixie O’Harris Award for service to Australian children’s literature.

CategoryBlog Posts

Welcome to QWC

Lost Password