Sunshine Coast author Jessica Townsend has taken out Book of the Year at the 2018 Indie Book Awards for her book Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow, the first children’s book to win the overall prize in the ten-year history of the awards. The winning titles in each category are: Fiction The Choke (Sofie Laguna, A&U) Nonfiction Saga…

  The shortlists for this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced. The shortlisted titles are: Older Readers Mallee Boys (Charlie Archbold, Wakefield Press) In the Dark Spaces (Cally Black, Hardie Grant Egmont) Take Three Girls (Cath Crowley, Fiona Wood & Simmone Howell, Pan) Because of You (Pip Harry, UQP) The…

 The Australian Book Designers Association have announced the Longlist for the 66th Australian Book Design Awards 2018. The Australian Book Design Awards celebrate the bravest and brightest, the most original and beautiful books published in Australia each year. The Shortlist will be announced on Monday 9 April and the winners of the Australian Book Design…

Bernadette Rowley will by releasing her seventh book The Master and the Sorceress on the 16th of April, 2018.

Amanda O’Callaghan‘s award-winning flash fiction Tying the Boats has been selected by Aimee Bender for the forthcoming Best Small Fictions 2018 anthology.

The Australian Publishers Association (APA), the Australian Booksellers Association (ABA), the Australian Society of Authors (ASA) and the Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) have released a joint statement promoting ‘safe workplaces’. The statement, published by the each of the peak bodies on 14 March, states that the organisations “endorse safe workplaces, embrace diversity, accept no…

Lisa Walker‘s debut young adult novel Paris Syndrome, about a Paris-obsessed Brisbane teenager, was published by HarperCollins.

Jay Kylie Ludowyke’s debut nonfiction book Carpathia: The extraordinary story of the ship that rescued the survivors of the Titanic will be published by Hachette Australia in July 2018.

The Management Committee of Queensland Writers Centre is today excited to announce the appointment of Lori-Jay Ellis as Chief Executive Officer. Lori-Jay brings to the role a personal passion for the written word, along with a firm belief in nurturing, mentoring and developing creative talent, and proven leadership success in both the arts and corporate sector….

Mocco Wollert won first prize in the Mulga Bill Eaglehawk Dahlia & Arts Festival.

Page 1 of 41 2 3 4

Welcome to QWC

Lost Password