Sunshine Coast author Jessica Townsend has taken out Book of the Year at the 2018 Indie Book Awards for her book Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow, the first children’s book to win the overall prize in the ten-year history of the awards.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • The Choke (Sofie Laguna, A&U)


  • Saga Land (Richard Fidler & Kári Gíslason, ABC Books)

Debut fiction

  • Wimmera (Mark Brandi, Hachette)

Illustrated nonfiction

  • Native: Art & Design with Australian Plants (Kate Herd & Jela Ivankovic-Waters, Thames & Hudson)

Young adult

  • Wilder Country (Mark Smith, Text)


  • Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Jessica Townsend, Hachette)

The Indie Book Awards are chosen by independent booksellers to reward and promote excellence in Australian writing. Find out more here.

CategoryBlog Posts

Welcome to QWC

Lost Password